Home > News


Remembrance Sunday 2021

29 October 2021


REMEMBRANCE SUNDAY, 14TH NOVEMBER 2021, PARADE (10:15am from Claremont Pier) AND SERVICE (10:45am at the War Memorial, Royal Plain)

If you would like to join the parade or lay a wreath at this service, please download and complete the booking form via the following link: Booking Form.  Please return to the Town Council as soon as possible.

After last year’s postponement due to the Covid-19 Pandemic we are very much looking forward to the return of the event. Whilst there are currently no legal restrictions, could all those attending please play a part in making the event as safe as possible for all attending; please wear a mask, don’t attend if you are feeling unwell, and keep as much space as you can around you.

Some car parking in the town will be free of charge from 08:00 to 13:00. Further details will be shared or will be available at www.eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Read more on Remembrance Sunday 2021

Remembrance Sunday Service and Parade 2021

1 October 2021

The Remembrance Sunday Service and Parade will return to Lowestoft this November (Sunday 14th at the War Memorial, Royal Plain – subject to relevant permissions and any Covid-19 restrictions). If you would like to lay a wreath on behalf of the organisation you represent, please complete this form: Booking Form - Service of Remembrance 2021. Further details of the event will follow.

IMG 3309


Read more on Remembrance Sunday Service and Parade 2021

Jubilee Bridge Update

1 October 2021

The Jubilee Bridge over The Ravine has been closed to the public owing to needed and significant repairs. East Suffolk Council is managing the inspection and repairs and is liaising with Lowestoft Town Council. From time to time it is unavoidable that The Ravine itself must be closed for health and safety, inspection and interim repairs. The full repair programme is being carefully planned with the specialist support required for this important part of Lowestoft’s heritage.

Read more on Jubilee Bridge Update

Declaration of Result - Kirkley Ward

17 September 2021

Lowestoft Town Council had one vacancy for a Town Councillor for Kirkley ward, which has now been filled after the elections held on Thursday 16th September 2021 by Christian Newsome.

Read more on Declaration of Result - Kirkley Ward

Suffolk Local History Council Local Recorders

10 September 2021

Would you like to be the Local Recorder for the Suffolk Local History Council?

The Suffolk Local History Council runs a Local Recorders Scheme throughout Suffolk.  We administer a network of volunteers to ensure that the ‘present’ is adequately recorded at local level for the ‘future’.

A Local Recorder will note significant happenings in their parish and collect their local parish magazines, leaflets, election pamphlets and newspaper cuttings.  At the end of each year, they are asked to submit a short report summarising the activities of their parish.  The reports are deposited at the Suffolk Record Office and available to future researchers together with the collected items.

If you are interested, please look at the Recorders Pack by visiting www.slhc.org.uk, click on Recorders, then click on Recorders Pack in the text on the left hand side to acquaint yourself with the guidelines of the scheme.  You do not need to be a historian; you do not need any qualifications other than an interest in your parish.  In return you will receive a copy of the SLHC Newsletter and be invited to the annual conference specifically for Local Recorders.  To volunteer to help in this important work, please contact recorders@slhc.org.uk

Read more on Suffolk Local History Council Local Recorders

Heritage Open Days Lowestoft

7 September 2021

The Town Council is delighted to be involved in Lowestoft’s Heritage Open Days. A full programme of free events is available for all to enjoy. Further details at the Heritage Open Days Website or pick up a brochure from one of the following locations: The Railway Station, Sam's Café on Bevan Street, the Town Council reception, Lowestoft Library, Oulton Broad Library, the Kirkley Centre, or Uncle Sid's in the High Street.

Read more on Heritage Open Days Lowestoft